About Mark

Mark Butler has been the Labor Member for Port Adelaide in the federal parliament since 2007 and in July 2016 he was appointed Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy.

Mark served as Minister for Ageing and Australia’s first Minister for Mental Health in the Gillard Government. He has also held the ministries of Housing, Homelessness, Social Inclusion, Climate Change, Water and the Environment.

He has long been a champion for society’s most vulnerable, and was a member of the South Australian Social Inclusion Board during its major review of the South Australian mental health system.

In 2013 Mark was awarded the Alzheimer’s Disease International Award for Outstanding Global Contribution to the Fight Against Dementia.

Before Mark was elected to parliament, he worked for some of the most disadvantaged people in the community as an official with United Voice for over 15 years, including 11 years as State Secretary.

In 2003 he was awarded the Centenary Medal for services to trade unionism. 

Mark served as President of the South Australian Branch of the ALP in 1997 to 1998 and as a member of the ALP National Executive from 2000 to 2014. He was elected as National President in 2015.

Mark is the author of Advanced Australia - The Politics of Ageing, published in 2015.

Mark holds a First Class Honours Law degree, an Arts degree and a Masters degree in International Relations. He lives in Woodville Park with his wife and two children, and is a keen supporter of his local AFL team, Port Power.

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Port Adelaide, South Australia in 2007.

Ministerial appointments

Minister for Climate Change, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water 1.7.13 - 2013 election.

Minister for Housing and Homelessness 4.2.13 to 1.7.13

Minister for Social Inclusion, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Mental Health Reform 14.12.11 to 1.7.13

Minister for Mental Health & Ageing 14.09.10 to 1.7.13

Parliamentary Secretary for Health from 9.6.09 to 14.9.10

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing:
Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 19.2.08 to 15.6.09.

Joint Statutory:
Public Accounts and Audit from 18.2.08 to 15.6.09;
Public Works from 18.2.08 to 15.6.09;
Parliamentary Library from 18.2.08.

Party positions

Delegate, ALP State Conference (SA) from 1993.
Delegate, ALP National Conference from 1998.
President, ALP (SA) 1997-98.
Member, ALP National Executive from 2000-2014.
President, ALP 2015- 


Born 1970, Canberra, ACT.


Qualifications and occupation before entering federal Parliament

BA, LLB(Hons)(Adel).
MIntRel (Deakin).

Union official 1992-2007.


Awarded Centenary Medal, 2003.


Where do I go for help ?

© Mark Butler. Authorised by Mark Butler 21 Commercial Road, Port Adelaide SA 5015